lightning tracker  
Pelican Waters QLD - Street Names
Booker Parade

Booker Prize 
The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original full-length novel, written in the English language, by a citizen of the Commonwealth of Nations, Ireland, or Zimbabwe.
The winner of the Man Booker Prize is generally assured of international renown and success; therefore, the prize is of great significance for the book trade.
It is also a mark of distinction for authors to be nominated for the Man Booker longlist or selected for inclusion in the shortlist.
History and administration 
The prize was originally known as the Booker-McConnell Prize, after the company Booker-McConnell began sponsoring the event in 1968; it became commonly known as the "Booker Prize" or simply "the Booker." When administration of the prize was transferred to the Booker Prize Foundation in 2002, the title sponsor became the investment company Man Group, which opted to retain "Booker" as part of the official title of the prize.
The foundation is an independent registered charity funded by the entire profits of Booker Prize Trading Ltd., of which it is the sole shareholder.
The prize money awarded with the Booker Prize was originally £21,000, and was subsequently raised to £50,000 in 2002 under the sponsorship of the Man Group.
The rules of the Booker changed in 1971; previously, it had been awarded retrospectively to books published prior to the year in which the award was given. 
In 1971 the year of eligibility was changed to the same as the year of the award; in effect, this meant that books published in 1970 were not considered for the Booker in either year.
The Booker Prize Foundation announced in January 2010 the creation of a special award called the "Lost Man Booker Prize," with the winner chosen from a longlist of 22 novels published in 1970.
2001 was the first year in which the longlist was revealed to the general public.
The selection process for the winner of the prize commences with the formation of an advisory committee which includes an author, two publishers, a literary agent, a bookseller, a librarian, and a chairperson appointed by the Booker Prize Foundation.
The advisory committee then selects the judging panel, the membership of which changes each year, although on rare occasions a judge may be selected a second time.
Judges are selected from amongst leading literary critics, writers, academics and notable public figures.
The winner is usually announced at a ceremony in London's Guildhall, usually in early October.
Facts and statistics

  • Each publisher's imprint may submit two titles. In addition, previous winners of the prize and those who have been shortlisted in the previous five years are automatically considered. Books may also be called in: publishers can make written representations to the judges to consider titles in addition to those already entered. In the 21st century the average number of books considered by the judges has been approximately 130. 
  • The list of books making the longlist was first released in 2001. In 2003 there were 23 books on the longlist, in 2002 there were 20 and in 2001 there were 24. 
  • For the first 35 years of the Booker, there were only five years when fewer than six books were on the shortlist, and two years (1980 and 1981) when there were seven on the shortlist.

As of 2003:

  • Over the first 35 years there were a total of 201 novels from 135 authors on the shortlists.
  • Of the 97 novelists nominated once, there were 13 winners and three joint winners.
  • Of the 19 novelists nominated twice, there were seven winners.
  • Of the 11 novelists nominated three times, there were four winners, one joint winner and two two-time winners Peter Carey and J. M. Coetzee.
  • Of the five four-time nominees, all but one have won once. They are Kazuo Ishiguro, Salman Rushdie, Thomas Keneally, Penelope Fitzgerald and William Trevor (never won).
  • There have been three five-time nominees: Margaret Atwood (first nominated in 1986 and won in 2000), Beryl Bainbridge (nominated twice in the 1970s and three times in the 1990s, but she has never won), and Ian McEwan (first nominated in 1981 and won in 1998).
  • There has been only one six-time nominee, Iris Murdoch, who won on her fourth nomination in 1978 and was nominated twice more in the 1980s.
  • Including authors with dual citizenship, the United Kingdom has the most winners of the prize at 25.
  • Second is Australia with six winners (counting both Coetzee and Carey twice);
  • Ireland and India each have four winners.
  • Four authors who have won the Booker have also been awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature: V. S. Naipaul (won the Booker in 1971, and the Nobel in 2001), Nadine Gordimer (won the Booker in 1974, the Nobel in 1991), William Golding (won the Booker in 1980, the Nobel in 1983),
  • J. M. Coetzee (an Australian Citizen) won the Booker in 1983 and 1999, and the Nobel in 2003.

    booker prizeJ.M. Coetzee


Return to Street Names

  © Jasprit Design 2009 Disclaimer