lightning tracker  
Pelican Waters QLD - Travel Tools

Seasons and Continents

Did you know that the Sunshine Coast has 7 hours of Sunshine per day and Australia is on the Southern hemisphere.

The seasons are different and relate to either the Southern Hemisphere, where the hemisphere is south of the Equator or the Northern Hemisphere where the hemisphere is North of the Equator.

The Southern Hemisphere Seasons are as follows, which include Australia

Summer:       December to February
Autumn:        March to May
Winter:          June to August
Spring:          September to November

Countries in the Northern hemisphere have their seasons reversed, although they are called the same.

The Northern Hemisphere Seasons are as follows, which includes the UK

Summer:       June to August
Autumn:        September to November
Winter:          December to February
Spring:          March to May


A continent is a landmass with specific characteristics. Each continent is unique, but they are all characterized by two features: ancient, geologically stable regions and younger geologically active areas. The great mountain ranges of the continents are found in these younger regions. Most have extensive plains or plateaus. All of the continents, except Antarctica, are 
"wedge-shaped," wider at the north than at the south.

It is generally accepted that there are seven continents:

North America, 
South America, 

Islands located near a continent are generally considered, in a geographical sense, part of that continent. Greenland, for example, is politically part of Europe but belongs geographically to North America, as do the islands of the Caribbean and  the western North Atlantic Ocean.

There are some islands and island groups, however, that are not considered part of any continent, geographically speaking. 
New Zealand, Hawaii, and French Polynesia are among them.

Oceania is the collective name for the lands of the Pacific Ocean, and is a convenient way to name these areas, which,  with the exception of Australia, are not part of any continent.
But Oceania itself is not a continent.

Continents in the Northern Hemisphere

  • entirety of Europe
  • entirety of North, Central America and Caribbean
  • the vast majority of Asia, except East Timor and Indonesia (mainly in Southern Hemisphere)
  • about 2/3 of Africa, just below the "horn"
  • 1/10 of South America, north of the mouth of the Amazon River

Continents in the Southern Hemisphere

  • Antarctica
  • Africa (approximately 1/3 of it – from south of Libreville in Gabon in the west to south of Somalia in the east)
  • Asia (the very southern island portion including most of Indonesia and East Timor)
  • Australia, (the entire mainland is in the Southern Hemisphere, although the very northern part of Raja Ampat Islands in Papua are in the Northern Hemisphere)
  • South America (mostly, south of the Amazon River mouth in the east and Quito in the west)
  © Jasprit Design 2009 Disclaimer